Contact Us


136 Agricultural Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405.744.5395
Fax: 405.744.5339

You are here: Home / News / OSU alumnus earns national philanthropy award

OSU alumnus earns national philanthropy award

(COLLEGE STATION, Texas) – Dennis White recently earned national recognition for more than 30 years of generous support for Oklahoma State University. On June 18, the National Agricultural Alumni and Development Association named Dennis as the Ruby C. McSwain Outstanding Philanthropist Award winner.
OSU alumnus earns national philanthropy award

Dennis White

The honor was announced during the NAADA’s annual conference, hosted by Texas A&M University. The award “recognizes an

individual or individuals with a record of sustained giving to support agriculture, agricultural higher education, Cooperative

Extension, or land grant universities. This award also recognizes an individual for his/her role as an advocate for agriculture and

natural resources and for their philanthropy in community organizations, religious institutions, art, environment and social



“Dr. Dennis White is defined by a philanthropic spirit that has significantly improved his alma mater and extends to agricultural

and cultural resources in Oklahoma,” said Dr. Thomas Coon, vice president, dean and director of the Division of Agricultural

Sciences and Natural Resources at OSU.


White’s generous contributions have benefitted the entire OSU System since 1982. Dennis and his wife, Marta, established the

first endowed faculty chair in the OSU Department of Animal Science in 2001. Their belief that students are the future of the

industry also led them to create scholarships for graduate students working in the area of beef-cattle production.


White has also contributed through his leadership as president of the OSU Animal Science Alumni Association,

chairman of the steering committee for the Totusek Endowed Chair, and membership on the Dean’s Advisory

Committee and the OSU Foundation’s Board of Governors and Trustees.

“This is a great honor that should be shared with so many at OSU that work tirelessly to achieve and surpass our

goal for the Branding Success campaign,” said White, referring to OSU’s comprehensive campaign that raised more

than $1.2 billion between December 2007 and December 2014. “Marta was a big part of the accomplishments that

we were able to achieve as we worked closely with the OSU Foundation. It truly was a team effort!”

Dr. Clint Krehbiel, holder of the Dennis and Marta White Endowed Chair in Animal Science, introduced White at the


“It is with great pleasure that I recognize him and celebrate this well-deserved recognition as a national leader

within the land-grant community,” said Krehbiel, who is assistant head of the Department of Animal Science. “His

philanthropy and leadership exemplify his passion for OSU’s land-grant mission.”

White earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in animal science at OSU, followed by a Ph.D. at Texas A&M. His

distinguished career included roles as a livestock specialist at Texas A&M, director of feeder services of the

American National Cattlemen’s Association, and senior technical advisor for Elanco Animal Health.

He has contributed his time and talent to the boards of organizations affiliated with the agricultural industry,

including the American Society of Animal Science, American National Cattlemen’s Association, the Samuel Roberts

Noble Foundation, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association and American Society

of Agricultural Consultants. He is also a loyal supporter of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.

In recognition of his many contributions, White has previously been named the Department of Animal Science’s

Graduate of Distinction, Distinguished Agriculture Alumnus, and recipient of the OSU Alumni Association’s

Distinguished Alumni Award.

As a couple, the Whites are members of OSU’s Proud & Immortal Society, President’s Fellows and the OSU Alumni

Science Founders Society.

The National Agricultural Alumni and Development Association, founded in 1976, is an organization of more than

350 professionals from around the country dedicated to the advancement of agricultural and related sciences at

the 40+ higher education institutions they represent. NAADA's unique culture of sharing provides members with

unmatched professional development opportunities and a wealth of resources to help them improve the

institutions they serve.

For more information, please contact:
Jacob Longan