Contact Us


136 Agricultural Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405.744.5395
Fax: 405.744.5339

You are here: Home / About Us / Awards and Accolades / Student Awards & Accolades

Student Awards & Accolades

Student Awards & Accolades


2016 CASNR Louis and Betty Gardner Outstanding Senior

Dillon Johnson, an agribusiness and plant and soil sciences double major from Afton, Oklahoma, is the 2017 CASNR Outstanding Senior. He is the son of Scott and Kim Johnson.

In the past four years, Dillon has been extremely active on campus. He served as president of the Student Government Association for 2016-17, and also served a year as CASNR Student Council president. He has conducted research under
Dr. David Shideler in the agricultural economics department, focusing on rural economic development.

Dillon was chosen as an OSU Senior of Significance and Outstanding Senior. He also was a Top 20 Freshman Man. He has received his American FFA Degree and was a Wentz Leadership Award Recipient.

“None of this would have been possible without the people of this college. The administration, faculty, staff and students in CASNR are truly like no other. From best friends who know me better than anyone else, to faculty that I want to be like one day, these people have changed my life. No matter where I go after graduation, this place and these people will go with me.”

2016 CASNR Seniors of Distinction

  • Jesse Belvin, plant and soil sciences
  • Allison Christian, animal science
  • Lauren Clark, agribusiness*
  • Laurie Fitch, agricultural communications
  • Klair Hartzold, animal science
  • Dillon Johnson, agribusiness/plant and soil sciences
  • Courtney Karr, animal science
  • Christian Ley, biosystems engineering*
  • Anna O'Hare, natural resource ecology and management
  • Garrett Reed, agribusiness
  • JD Rosman, agricultural communications*
  • Ricki Schroeder, agricultural leadership*
  • Will Shaffer, animal science
  • Chandler Steele, animal science
  • Jason Wetzler, agricultural education

*Designates selection as CASNR Dean's Award of Excellence

2016 CASNR Charles and Magda Browning Outstanding Freshman Award

Clay Daily, an animal science major with a business option from Mayville, Michigan, is the 2017 CASNR Outstanding Freshman. He is the son of Greg and Linette Daily.

Clay is involved in several clubs and organizations on campus, including the CASNR Freshman and Transfer Council, Animal Science Leadership Alliance, Block and Bridle, Oklahoma Collegiate Cattlemen and Collegiate Farm Bureau. During his freshman year, he served on the OSU Freshman Representative Council.

Clay was an OSU Top Ten Freshmen Man and finalist for Outstanding Greek New Member. Additionally, he has been recognized on the President’s Honor Roll and accepted into the OSU Honors College.

“The line between success and failure is determined by the lessons learned from the experience. The greatest experiences of my freshman year were not awards gained, but lessons learned because those are what drove me to focus more on my goals and allowed me to appreciate my success to a greater degree.”

    • Oklahoma State University Seniors of Significance
    • 2017
    • • Allison Christian, animal science
      • Lauren Clark, agribusiness
      • Ashton Hierholzer, biochemistry and molecular biology and microbiology
      • Dillon Johnson, agribusiness/plant and soil sciences**
      • Katie Lippoldt, agribusiness
      • Anna O'Hare, natural resource ecology and management
      • Garrett Reed, agribusiness
      • Tyler Schnaithman, agricultural economics
      • Ricki Schroeder, agricultural leadership/agribusiness
      • Chandler Steele, animal science
      • Lawson Thompson, agricultural education
      • Carson Vinyard, agribusiness
      • Jason Wetzler, agricultural education
      For a complete list of past OSU Alumni Association senior award recipients, click here.
      *Designates selection as an OSU Outstanding Senior.
    • Mortar Board Top Twenty Freshmen Men
    • 2017
    • • Levi Baker, agribusiness*
      • Jacob Burch-Konda, animal science*
      • Cody Gingrich, animal science*
      • Benjamin (Luke) Hale, agribusiness
      • Ridge Hughbanks, agribusiness*
      • Jacob Sestak, agricultural economics/accounting
      • Hunter Starr, agribusiness/agricultural communications
      • Grant Wilber, animal science
      *Designates selection as an OSU Mortar Board Top Ten Freshmen Man
    • Mortar Board Top Twenty Freshmen Women
    • 2017
    • • Adrienne Blakey, plant and soil sciences*
      • McKenzie Carvalho, agribusiness/agricultural communications*
      • Jordan Cowger, biochemistry and molecular biology/animal science*
      • Olivia Davis, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Allison Wilton, agribusiness*
      *Designates selection as an OSU Mortar Board Top Ten Freshmen Woman.
    • McKnight Scholar Leaders
    • 2015-2016
    • • Kassidy Bliss, animal science
      • Cade Lemons, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Nyla Maere, animal science
      • Austin Medlin, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Charlee Teague, animal science
      • Emmaline Belwood, natural resource ecology and management
      • James Borgerding, animal science
      • Alyssa Hoyle, animal science
      • Taylor Travis, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Georgia Blackwell, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Emily Shanks, agribusiness
      • Bret Barnard, agribusiness
      • Elizabeth Neal, agricultural education
      • Sarah Drown, agribusiness
      • Caroline Cowels, animal science
      • Carly Claflin, animal science
      • Bryanna Birdson, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Madeline Fugate, animal science
      • Elyse Wilhoit, agricultural communications
      • Mason Miller, food science
      • Raquel Ruiz, agribusiness
      • Cale Hinrichsen, agribusiness
      • Cody Cashell, environmental science
      • Russell Spurlock, agribusiness
      • Magen Trent, animal science
      • Mark Scalmanini, animal science
      • Megan Wasson, animal science
    • Niblack Research Scholars
    • 2015-2016
    • • Sage Becker, animal science
      • Savannah Morris, biochemistry and molecular biology
      • Grace Ogden, plant and soil science
      • Victoria Pickens, entomology and plant pathology
    • Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship
    • 1991 - Ross S. Keener, biochemistry
      2010 - Lydia Meador, botany, microbiology and biochemistry
      2012 - Rosa Yorks, zoology, microbiology and molecular genetics
    • Harry S. Truman Fellowship
      1997 - Shannon L. Ferrell, agricultural economics
      1998 - Chris Stephens, agricultural economics
      2000 - Kent W. Gardner, agricultural economics
      2001 - Julia Arntz, environmental science
      2002 - Bart Fischer, agricultural economics and finance (Finalist)
      2008 - Cortney Timmons, biosystems and agricultural engineering
      2011 - Blake Jackson, agricultural economics
      2014 - Chacey Schoeppel, agribusiness
    • Morris K. Udall Scholarship
      2004 - Laura Christianson, biosystems and agricultural engineering (Finalist)
      2007 - Sara Jane Smallwood, agricultural communications and American Indian studies
      2007 - Cortney Timmons, biosystems and agricultural engineering
      2008 - Savannah Smith, environmental science
      2009 - Jessica Lay, biosystems and agricultural engineering
      2010 - Lauren White, environmental science
      2010 - Jeremy Bennett, environmental science
      2011 - Blake Jackson, agricultural economics
      2011 - Flink Holbrook, biosystems and agricultural engineering
      2015 - Maeghan Murie-Harting, chemistry, biochemistry and molecular biology
    • Marshall Scholarship
    • 1999 - Chris Stephens, agricultural economics
      2003 - Bart Fischer, agricultural economics and finance (Finalist)
    • Rhodes Scholarship
    • 2003 - Trent McKnight, agricultural economics (State Finalist)